This morning, President Obama nominated Inez Moore Tenenbaum to be the new chair of the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). Tenenbaum is the former state superintendent of Education for South Carolina and was the Democratic candidate for US Senate when Senator Hollings retired. That seat was won by Jim DeMint, one of the three nay votes on the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008.

Obama also raised the CPSC budget to $107 million and appointed Bob Adler, of University of North Carolina, to an open Commissioner spot on the CPSC. CPSC had been operating with only two commissioners out of a possible five.