2011 BFAKids In Danger will hold our Annual Best Friend Award Night on Thursday, May 19, 2011. This year’s event is held at Fulton’s on the River at 315 N. LaSalle in Chicago, and honors Mitch Lipka, editor of TheConsumerChronicle.com, for his commitment to reporting on children’s product safety. Mitch is currently the child product safety expert from Parent Magazine’s website, Parents.com. He also writes consumer columns for The Boston Globe, Reuters and various other publications. An early advocate of children’s product safety, Mitch published a series of articles in the Sun-Sentinel in 1999 investigating children’s product safety.

KID supporters will get a chance to mix and mingle while sampling delicacies from top Chicago chefs. Chefs Vicente Duran of Vivo, Robert Rovito of Capri Ristorante, Michael Altenberg of Bistro Campagne and Luca Corrazzina of 312 Chicago, along with our host, Fulton’s and Remo Turano’s Chicago Pastries will each prepare a tasting station for guests to sample their dishes. In the midst of tasting, guests will have the opportunity to participate in live and silent auctions, as well as an exciting raffle with spectacular prizes. Here is a small sample of some of the wonderful auction and raffle prizes:

  • Two round trip vouchers from Porter Airlines
  • 4 One-day park hopper passes from Disney
  • 4 upper box tickets from the Chicago White Sox
  • Gift basket from Treasure Island Food
  • A Friday Night Happy Hour Party from Howl on the Moon

Many, many more prizes will be offered at the event!

The Best Friend Award Night is KID’s primary fundraising event and makes it possible for KID to meet the growing need for our lifesaving programs, resources and services. It also serves as a wonderful opportunity to salute our accomplishments and look forward to new challenges as well as an important time to remember Danny Keysar and other victims of unsafe children’s products. Each year, KID highlights the contributions of our Best Friend—someone who has helped keep children safe.  A few past honorees have been Gary Smith, MD (2010), for his pioneering work in the field of childhood injury prevention, Michigan Governor Jennifer M. Granholm (2005), for her support of the Children’s Product Safety Act and advocacy for children’s safety and E. Marla Felcher (2001), for her groundbreaking book, It’s No Accident: How Corporations Sell Dangerous Baby Products.

Visit our website for more information about this exciting event! To purchase tickets, click here.